How To: Pick the Right Summer Pants (Or “Put back the capris!”)

I started working on a post about how to pick the right style of shorts for your legs (coming! promise!), but as I was browsing through TJ Maxx looking for inspiration (and some wedges on sale), I found myself in the most horrific aisle of the store – the capri section. As I came to a screeching halt, my eyes transfixed on the way-too-vast selection in front of me , I knew that I had to shelve the shorts story and send a plea to all of you. Put the down capris down and slowly back away!

Capris do not look good – on anyone! Need proof? Just pick up a Victoria’s Secret clothing catalog and check out the capri section. Capris make those gorgeous models’ calves look they have grown two sizes. The problem – the capri ends mid-calf, and since they aren’t fitted, they make your leg look thicker than it really is.

Now, I know what you are going to say. They are just so comfortable! I understand as I do indeed own a few pairs of capris. Each summer, I seem to be drawn in by their refreshing fabrics and fun colors, but I’ve got stronger over the years and am now able to resist their persistent pull. Mostly because I’ve branded an image in my mind, of myself, wearing white linen capris that had branding at cuff. I shudder just to think about those pants.

So comfort you want? Then comfort you shall have. Here are some alternatives to the capri.

Pack it Up. The Cargo Pant is a hot trend for the summer. You no longer have to worry about smacking someone with your side pockets like with cargo pants of old. These days’ cargoes are simple and slim. Check out the J.Crew Linen-Silk Cargo Pants.

J Crew Linen-silk cargo pants

It’s Okay to Slouch. Summertime is the right time for a little slouching. Though relaxed in the fit, slouchy pants still look great on a date, especially with when rolled at the cuff. Pair with stacked high heels and a fun tank. Gap Slouchy Pants

Gap Slouchy Belted pants

Elongate It. Just because it’s summer, doesn’t mean you have to wear short pants all of the time. A full-length pant in a light fabric can feel and look just a fresh, especially in fun summer colors or a crisp white. Check out the Old Navy Button Front Wide Leg Pants – love the wide bottoms.

Old Navy Button Front Wide Leg Pants

Island Fever. Living the luxe life? Try the Georgie’s St. Bart Pant – gorgeous brown silk for tropical island nights or perusing Parisian shops by day.

Georgie St. Bart's Pant

June 27, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , . How To.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

