Fashion Files: The Case of the Pricey Piece

Client: Me!

The Scene: Important Work Event

The Dilemma: How to get that outfit you want without gauging your wallet

Tell me if this has happened to you before.

You are shopping for an outfit for an upcoming event. It’s something important, so you really want to look and feel great. You are not quite sure what you are looking for, so you browse around for a while, stopping at your usual haunts as you search for that great look.

And then, after an exhaustive search, you finally find the piece. It’s perfect. And, of course, it’s pricey.

I just had the experience recently, when I was preparing for an important work event. I was looking for a professional, but stylish work look – something a little bit different, but still classic and comfortable. And I found it in a beautiful mixed media dress by Rachel Roy.

Rachel Roy Mixed Media Dress

I loved the chiffon top – tweed skirt combo, and could picture it paired perfectly with a tuxedo-style blazer and my black Calvin Klein platform pumps. But I could not justify the $500 price.

So what do you do? Don’t let that price tag prevent you from pulling in that piece – you just have to get creative. After some in-person and online sleuthing, I was able to find some great options that mirrored the look I was hoping to wear without withering away my bank account.

I couldn’t find a similar mixed media dress – where the top and bottom feature different fabrics in one dress – so I went for separates. And I was thrilled to find some amazing options.

Starting with the tweed component, I found two great picks. On the higher end, I found an amazing Vivienne Westwood draped pencil skirt at $180. The fold in the front gave it an extra special touch that really set it apart from most flat-front pencil skirts.

Vivienne Westwood Red Label Skirt

For all of you frugal fans, you will love that I also found a $49 option at Newport News. Their tweed version had black banding at the waist – nice touch – though there was fake flower attached to that banding. But nothing a pair of scissors can’t handle!

Newport News Tweed skirt

Next, onto the top. After skimming through pages and webpages of styles, I was able to find a great drape-front chiffon top from Vince at $135.  I liked how the neckline was a bit higher than on the Rachel Roy – higher necklines are better for my figure – and knew the light-weight fabric could be easily tucked into the tweed skirt without too much bulk at the waist.

Vince Drape Front Tank

I also found a lightweight – and lightly priced – option at J.Crew for $36.50, in the form of  a sweet tank with detail at the neckline. Though not chiffon, the detailing gave it the more professional look that I was hoping for.

JCrew Vintage Canvas Bow Tank

In the end, I was still pining away for the Rachel Roy dress, but I felt like I didn’t have to settle with my super new separates.

Was the client happy? I can definitively say “yes!” Another case closed!

Have a fashion caper that needs to be solved? Ask put2gether to put you together!

May 22, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , . Fashion Files.

2 Comments

  1. CoconutPalmDesigns replied:

    I love how you gave high and low end price points for each piece. Great post!

    Stopping by from SITS to welcome you!

    Cheers 🙂
    – CoconutPalmDesigns

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

