How To: Rough It Royally

To celebrate our anniversary (here’s to 9 wonderfully amazing years with my sweet husband!), we decided to pack up the bikes, the sneaks and the dog, and head up to the mountains to enjoy a weekend away from it all. So after booking a great, rustic spot in the Cienega Creek Ranch, mapping some bike trails and ferreting out some dog-friendly restaurants (thank you Nottinghams and Jasper’s), I got down to business – packing my outfits for the weekend. Since we were heading to the mountains where a late Spring snow was still covering ample ground, I knew that I needed the three Ws – warmth, wicking and workout wonderful. Just because we were hitting the trails didn’t mean that my outfits had to take a hit.

Darker Parka. With a forecast of 40s for the evenings, I packed one of my most favorite jackets in the world – my Nectarine puffy jacket. The sister line of Ultra Nectar (and owned by my hubby’s friend), Nectarine is a hip lifestyle clothing company for those on the go. My Nectarine “puffer” is the only thing that can keep me warm when speeding down the slopes, plus it is enviably cool looking. With ski jackets, I have always gone for basic black – you can pair it with anything and the color never goes out of style.

Tree Tops. Our first afternoon found us enjoying a great gift from my parents – the Grizzly Bear Tour at Flying Bear Zip Lines. So what do you wear when you are zipping 100 feet up in the air from tree to tree? How about a long-sleeved tee and yoga pants? Check! I picked up a great James Perse tee in white from Loehmann’s – it’s longer length is perfect for a short-waisted gal like myself – and paired it with a black Scoop Neck Lululemon tank and pin-striped yoga pants for a extra bit of glam. The result was snag-free, flexible and comfortable (well, as comfortable as you can be strapped into a harness).

Lululemon Scoop Neck Tank

A Catch in Stretch. A self-professed (and blog-professedLululemon lover, I actually packed quite a bit of Lulu for my weekend. The cropped pant for gear-avoidance while mountain biking. The Define jacket for chafe-free hikes. The Groove pant for swinging through the trees. And since I was trying to keep the bag light, my yoga pants doubled as dinner wear. Paired with a slouchy oatmeal wool sweater one night and with a gray v-neck long wool sweater on another, the Lulu pant dressed up my look while keeping the comfort factor in place.

A great anniversary weekend, styled in great comfort.

What’s your favorite mountain-ready gear?

May 17, 2010. Tags: , , , , , . How To.

One Comment

  1. Tweets that mention How To: Rough It Royally « put2gether -- Topsy.com replied:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by put2gether. put2gether said: How To: Rough It Royally: http://wp.me/pQb4V-7G […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

