Runway to Your Way: Adding Some Edge

For the record, I do not have a good singing voice. Now, that has not stopped me from belting out a powerful rendition of “Kiss On My List” in the shower or “A View to a Kill” in the car, but just be thankful that I’ve always chosen to contain my voice within the confines of glass walls. In fact, I usually just mouth the words when singing in chorus, like during office Happy Birthday celebrations, just to make sure that I do not offend. What can I say, I’m a conscientious friend.

So it’s a bit surprising that I do have rock n’ roll fantasies, but not surprising that those fantasies all revolve around fashion. I’m definitely not into the grit and grim rock n’ roll (couldn’t even manage the big hair in the ’80s) or glam rock a la The Runaways (not everything should be tight in my mind), but more than of the glamour edge of artists like Gwen Stefani, who take pretty pieces and turning them on their heads a bit.

Adding some edge is definitely in the air this season, with harder looking elements like metal studs on particularly everything. I love how I can now easily edge up my outfits a bit, mixing some more masculine pieces with feminine to create whole new exciting looks.

Brace Yourself. An easy edgy entry point is the bracelet. By starting with the wrist, you can still make a statement, but it will be more subtle. I love leather cuffs with metal embellishment, stacks of thin, wiry bracelets and large unique shapes. Go big, bold and weighty with a piece like the Loft chain bracelet I just purchased – the large chain links add the hardness I’m looking for, but the more feminine shape makes the design look sophisticated. Remember, the goal is to add edge without being overtly edgy, so think adornments like studs and not spikes.

Loft bracelet

Rock Around. The neckline provides the perfect showcase for elegant edge. I love the idea of a statement necklace – a piece that truly makes the whole outfit. Because a necklace is more in the forefront, think more daring and less dog collar. Soften metal chains by picking pieces with cotton, muslin or satin ribbons woven through the links or complemented by softer shapes like round baubles.

J Crew Necklace

Edge It Out. Add some roll n’ rock to your everyday look by selecting pieces that have a little edge in unexpected places. A couple of recent additions to my closet include a short-sleeved white jacket with studded trim, subtlely layered under sheer netting.

Dalia Collection jacket

….a white boyfriend blazer, with small studded trim just at the pockets….

Free People blazer

….and black Kenneth Cole pumps topped mini studs and gunmetal leather trim ….

Kenneth Cole heels

Want to work a little edge to your wardrobe? Here are some other options:

How about a sharp cinch?

New Pyramids Leather Belt

….Or a cool clutch?

Chateau Studded Wallet

…. Or a little leather from your limbs?

Linea Pelle bracelets

….Or a sick sandal?

Madden Girls Maliboo Stud Sandal

I’ll channeling Gwen Stefani this summer. Whose style do you admire the most?

May 8, 2010. Tags: , , , . Runway to Your Way.

One Comment

  1. Tweets that mention Runway to Your Way: Adding Some Edge « put2gether -- Topsy.com replied:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by put2gether. put2gether said: Runway to Your Way: Adding Some Edge: http://wp.me/pQb4V-6K […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

