Nailed It: We Love Jacques!

I’ve run into a countless number of women in the past few months – including myself – who have all been sporting the same nailpolish, Opi’s You Don’t Know Jacques. Part of their French collection from 2008, You Don’t Know Jacques seems to be the perfect color – it’s goes with every skintone, is neutral enough for work but edgy enough for a night out, and depending on the light, it morphs from gray to taupe so it goes with any outfit.

But despite sheer perfection of the color, it is a bit dark for summer fingernails (Jacques is staying firmly fixed on my toes though). So here’s my solution. Get yourself a bottle of Opi’s Tickle My France-y – a complementary color from the Opi French line – and mix the two together.

You Don't Know Jacques by OPI

For those DIYers out there, here’s how I do it at home:

  1. Begin with bare nails
  2. Grab your nearest magazine and pull out one of their subscription cards
  3. Start with You Don’t Know Jacque and pour a dime size onto the card
  4. Mix in three heaping drops of Tickle My France-y and stir until the color is even
  5. Work quickly and you should be able to manage two coats
  6. Voila! You’ve got a light Jacques for the summer

Tickle My France-y by OPI

What’s your favorite summer nail color?

May 6, 2010. Tags: , , , , . How To.

5 Comments

  1. Stephanie Worrell replied:

    Good idea! I’ve never thought to mix nail polish before to make another color.

  2. merrymack replied:

    I love this idea. I never thought of mixing colors before. Super good tip. Happy SITS Sharefest!

  3. Kate replied:

    Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest – just came over from the SITS site 🙂

    This is a really clever idea! I mix lipstick and eyeshadow, but I’d never thought of doing the same with nail varnish. It’d be a good way of making use of odd colours that don’t look the same on your nails as they do in the bottle.

  4. Emma replied:

    Oh that’s a great idea and I bet it makes a lovely colour! Thanks for stopping by my blog and hope you are having a great Saturday!

  5. Erin Wallace replied:

    This is such a great idea! I have lots of deep reds that aren’t summery – I’ll have to try this with them. Found you on SITS. Happy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

