How To: Complement With Color

When I was turning 17, my mom threw me a Color Me Beautiful surprise birthday. You remember Color Me Beautiful, right? Where they helped you to determine your coloring so you could select the color choices that suited you the best? I can’t tell you how excited I was! It was almost as exciting as when I hosted my “Jazzercise” birthday party a few years earlier, where all of my friends got handbands a la Olivia Newton-John that matched their outfits. I mean, it was the 80’s.

So there we were, a group of girls huddled around our Color Me Beautiful consultant, and as the birthday girl, I got the honor of going first. Part of the process was the seating of the subject in front of the group, and then the draping of different colors in front of subject’s face so everyone could vote on what colors looked best.

Our consultant decided to start with the standard New England colors that we all wore growing up – black, navy, khaki and white – and there were head nods and ohs and ahs as the different color fabrics were held under my face. And then we got to the metallics. Ah, that was fun. First, a silvery cloth was held close to my skin and there was the general consensus that yes, indeed, I should wear silver. And then came out the gold cloth, whose placement under my chin resulted in 15 girls beginning to shriek things like “take it away!” and “that’s hideous!” I kid you not – the gold was that ugly on me.

I have to say I felt somewhat vindicated as I had always had a thing for silver and utterly deplored gold. I remember being a very young girl watching the Olympics, and wondering why the gold medal was the top medal when clearly the silver was so much more attractive.

So this week, I’m going to focus on color and how to best match it to your skin type.  Playing with the right colors can really expand your wardrobe choices, bring new life to old favorites in your closet, and can truly make you look and feel great. Plus you’ll avoid the shrieks of your friends!

Tomorrow, selecting your power colors.

Have any color choice moments you want to share?

I’m not a paid endorser for Color Me Beautiful.

March 10, 2010. Tags: , , , , , . How To.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

